Skip to content

The Proof is in the Texting

December 18, 2011

I am driving down the road, about a 1/2 mile from home, finally embarking on the days’ errands, when I get a text from teenage son- Can you do something for me?. I dutifully pull over and text him back, cryptically asking- “what”? “Can you bring my guitar to school”. My reply- “when” (I don’t have a new-fangled phone that allows all the grammatical extras we use in our language) and the verdict comes in- “by 11:30?”.

Giving a Good Gift to my child

It is now a little after 10:00 and I had hoped to already be down at the Post Office by 10:00, when it opened and avoid the rush. So back to the house I go-being very thankful I was only a mile away, and wondering if God intended that I should leave later than planned.  And, I had actually intended to make a stop over by his school later in the day.

It had started as a typical Friday for me. This being the day I usually try to accomplish most of my food shopping and miscellaneous errands, and then rush home, unload it all, take a few swipes at cleaning, try to catch up for at least a few minutes on the back log of things on my desk and computer, and then settle in for a quiet evening, welcoming the Sabbath hours of rest.

Actually, I had something I was scheduled to do, but that cancelled. Thus I started in on my usual activities and was getting ready to leave the house about 8:20, when I suddenly remembered that I intended to put a couple packages together and get them in the mail today, so that hubby wouldn’t have to do it next week, and maybe they could be assured of arriving before the big day. The package project took longer than anticipation, but the satisfaction of a job completed and the probable smiles across the continent, were sufficiently gratifying. Thus putting me but a short distance from home when the text arrived on my phone doorstep.

My final reply to my son– “God must be looking out for you today”. He understood the answer was affirmative and that I would soon be arriving with the guitar, in time to be used for his purposes. My point? In June of this year, I wrote about the benefits of faith-from the prayer perspective. I believe this day’s experience is another aspect. Sure one could dwell on forgetfulness and the other inconveniences of what happen, but I choose to believe that there is a loving God who does concern Himself with our everyday happenings, and often intervenes on our behalf. Thus I choose to express my appreciation for His work on my behalf, and believe my son did the same also. I perceive this kind of intervention in my life to be health inducing- do you agree? And yes, I did get the day’s deeds accomplished and yes, my son was truly appreciative also.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Keith permalink
    December 18, 2011 9:25 pm

    Thank you for the simple reminder to always keep that awareness. It’s so easy to let the little things fly by without realizing He DOES concern himself with our daily affairs.

    • December 19, 2011 5:31 pm

      His presence/concern in my life makes life worth living, essentially without fear. What a blessing!

  2. December 25, 2011 1:15 pm

    Great article. I’ve enjoyed this contribution. Its nice to see every questions answered in a blog post like this. I will add this post on my blog and link to it. Thanks for a clear informative post, I’ve learned a lot. I hope to see videos though as I can be A.D.D and reading articles is not my favorite thing to do online. So what I do sometimes is just print the whole thing and read offline.

Trackbacks

  1. Texting With the Right Equipment | Community Health Advance

Leave a Reply

